Where is the 2023 UEFA Champions League final? Venue, city, stadium for the title match next year

With the draw for the 2022/23 Champions League group stage, the march to the June 2023 final begins.

The most recent final between Real Madrid and Liverpool took place at the Stade de France – France’s national stadium, located just north of the capital Paris in the suburb of Saint-Denis.

There have been a few reshuffles of end sites by European governing body UEFA in recent years between the COVID-19 pandemic and Russia’s invasion of Ukraine in February 2022.

However, the date and venue for the 2023 final have been set and The Sporting News brings you all the details below.

MORE: The teams qualified for the 2022-23 Champions League

Where is the UEFA Champions League final in 2023?

The 2023 UEFA Champions League Final will be played at Ataturk Olympic Stadium in Istanbul, Turkey which can accommodate nearly 77,000 people.

The game will mark the 68th edition of Europe’s premier club tournament, and the 31st since the competition was renamed the Champions League after being known for decades as the European Cup.

It will also be the second time the stadium has hosted the Champions League final, with the venue featuring Liverpool’s thrilling comeback and eventual penalty shoot-out victory after a 3-3 draw against Italian giants Milan in 2005.

The 2023 final was originally scheduled for Wembley Stadium in London, England, but the COVID-19 pandemic has forced a shuffle of hosts for matches in recent years.

The Atatürk Olympic Stadium, which opened in 2002, was originally scheduled to host the 2021 Champions League final, but two weeks before the final it was moved to Estadio do Dragao in Porto due to health issues and safety related to COVID-19.

The change had a domino effect, with the tournament final hosts for subsequent years all being pushed back.

When will the UEFA Champions League final take place in 2023?

The 2023 UEFA Champions League Final is currently scheduled for June 10, 2023 at the Turkish Ataturk Olympic Stadium in Istanbul.

The final match falls outside the typical May window due to changes to the football schedule caused by the shutdown to allow the 2022 FIFA World Cup to take place for the first time in November and December.

An exact kick-off time has yet to be confirmed, but it is likely that UEFA will follow the same pattern by staging the game in the evening local time to accommodate the global viewership of the game. television.

Given the time difference, a 8:00pm BST kick-off in the UK and 3:00pm ET in the US/Canada would result in a local kick-off at 10:00pm. If extra time and penalties are needed, that would extend the game into the wee hours of the night in Istanbul.

MORE: Champions League prize money breakdown

Where are the future Champions League finals taking place?

UEFA have already agreed the host cities for the next three editions of the Champions League final which will follow the 2022 title game between Liverpool and Real Madrid in Saint-Denis.

The 2022 Champions League final was originally scheduled for St Petersburg in Russia but was transferred to France following the war in Ukraine.

Match Host
2022 UEFA Champions League Final Stade de France (Saint-Denis, France)
2023 UEFA Champions League Final Ataturk Olympic Stadium (Istanbul, Turkey)
2024 UEFA Champions League Final Wembley Stadium (London, England)
2025 UEFA Champions League Final Allianz Arena (Munich, Germany)

Where were the last Champions League finals held?

The final has only ever been held once in Turkey and the 2023 event will be the return trip for one of the biggest sporting events in the world.

Here we look at venues that have hosted the final in the past, including those dating back to when the competition was known as the European Cup.

MORE: Which cities have hosted the most Champions League finals?

Year Stadium Match
2022 Stade de France (France) Liverpool v Real Madrid
2021 Dragao Stadium (Portugal) Chelsea 1-0 Manchester City
2020 Luz Stadium (Portugal) Bayern Munich 1-0 Paris Saint-Germain
2019 Wanda Metropolitano (Spain) Liverpool 2-0 Tottenham
2018 NSC Olimpiyskiy (Ukraine) Real Madrid 3-1 Liverpool
2017 Millennium Stadium (Wales) Real Madrid 4-1 Juventus
2016 San Siro (Italy) Real Madrid 1-1 Atlético Madrid (pen 5-3)
2015 Olympic Stadium (Germany) Barcelona 3-1 Juventus
2014 Luz Stadium (Portugal) Real Madrid 4-1 Atletico Madrid
2013 Wembley Stadium (England) Bayern Munich 2-1 Borussia Dortmund
2012 Allianz Arena (Germany) Chelsea 1-1 Bayern Munich (pen 4-3)
2011 Wembley Stadium (England) Barcelona 3-1 Manchester United
2010 Bernabéu (Spain) Inter 2-0 Bayern Munich
2009 Stadio Olimpico (Italy) Barcelona 2-0 Manchester United
2008 Luzhniki Stadium (Russia) Manchester United 1-1 Chelsea (pen 6-5)
2007 OAKA Stadium (Greece) Milan 2-1 Liverpool
2006 Stade de France (France) Barcelona 2-1 Arsenal
2005 Atatürk Olympic Stadium (Turkey) Liverpool 3-3 Milan (pen 3-2)
2004 Arena AufSchalke (Germany) Porto 3-0 Monaco
2003 Old Trafford (England) Milan 0-0 Juventus (3-2 pen)
2002 Hampden Park (Scotland) Real Madrid 2-1 Bayer Leverkusen
2001 San Siro (Italy) Bayern Munich 1-1 Valencia (pen 5-4)
2000 Stade de France (France) Real Madrid 3-0 Valencia
1999 Camp Nou (Spain) Manchester United 2-1 Bayern Munich
1998 Amsterdam ArenA (Netherlands) Real Madrid 1-0 Juventus
1997 Olympic Stadium (Germany) Borussia Dortmund 3-1 Juventus
1996 Stadio Olimpico (Italy) Juventus 1-1 Ajax (pen 4-2)
1995 Ernst Happel Stadium (Austria) Ajax 1-0 Milan
1994 OAKA Stadium (Greece) Milan 4-0 Barcelona
1993 Olympic Stadium (Germany) Olympique de Marseille 1-0 Milan
1992 Wembley Stadium (England) Barcelona 1-0 Sampdoria
1991 Stadio San Nicola (Italy) Red Star Belgrade 0-0 Marseille (pen 5-3)
1990 Prater Stadion (Austria) Milan 1-0 Benfica
1989 Camp Nou (Spain) Milan 4-0 Steaua Bucharest
1988 Neckarstadion (West Germany) PSV 0-0 Benfica (pen 6-5)
1987 Prater Stadion (Austria) Porto 2-1 Bayern Munich
1986 Estadio Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan (Spain) Steaua Bucharest 0-0 Barcelona (pen 2-0)
1985 Heysel Stadium (Belgium) Juventus 1-0 Liverpool
1984 Stadio Olimpico (Italy) Liverpool 1-1 Roma (pen 4-2)
1983 OAKA Stadium (Greece) Hamburg 1-0 Juventus
1982 De Kuip (Netherlands) Aston Villa 1-0 Bayern Munich
nineteen eighty one Parc des Princes (France) Liverpool 1-0 Real Madrid
1980 Bernabéu (Spain) Nottingham Forest 1-0 Hamburg
1979 Olympic Stadium (Germany) Nottingham Forest 1-0 Malmo
1978 Wembley Stadium (England) Liverpool 1-0 Club Brugge
1977 Stadio Olimpico (Italy) Liverpool 3-1 Borussia Monchengladbach
1976 Hampden Park (Scotland) Bayern Munich 1-0 St. Etienne
1975 Parc des Princes (France) Bayern Munich 2-0 Leeds United
1974 Heysel Stadium (Belgium) Bayern Munich 4-0 Atletico Madrid
1973 Crvena Zvezda Stadium (Yugoslavia) Ajax 1-0 Juventus
1972 De Kuip (Netherlands) Ajax 2-0 Milan
1971 Wembley Stadium (England) Ajax 2-0 Panathinaikos
1970 San Siro (Italy) Feyenoord 2-1 Celtic
1969 Bernabéu (Spain) Milan 4-1 Ajax
1968 Wembley Stadium (England) Manchester United 4-1 Benfica
1967 National Stadium (Portugal) Celtic 2-1 Inter
1966 Heysel Stadium (Belgium) Real Madrid 2-1 Partizan
1965 San Siro (Italy) Inter 1-0 Benfica
1964 Prater Stadion (Austria) Inter 3-1 Real Madrid
1963 Wembley Stadium (England) Milan 2-1 Benfica
1962 Olympic Stadium (Netherlands) Benfica 5-3 Real Madrid
1961 Wankdorfstadion (Switzerland) Benfica 3-2 Barcelona
1960 Hampden Park (Scotland) Real Madrid 7-3 Eintracht Frankfurt
1959 Neckarstadion (West Germany) Real Madrid 2-0 Reims
1958 Heysel Stadium (Belgium) Real Madrid 3-2 AC Milan
1957 Bernabéu (Spain) Real Madrid 2-0 Fiorentina
1956 Stade Velodrome Paris (France) Real Madrid 4-3 Reims

Comments are closed.